Book your appointment

Our History

At 40 Harley Street, Central London

The practice was established in the West End in the 1930s by Mr Allan Thompson, an eminent consultant at Guy’s Hospital, London. It moved to its present location at 40 Harley Street in 1947 and records show that many of our present-day patients can trace their association with the practice back over several generations. A testament to the continuing traditional values of the practice.

Allan Thompson

Looking back

Allan Thompson was at the forefront of the development of modern dentistry in Britain. His practice was one of the first to use fast turbine hand-pieces (drills) in the late 1950s and to adopt the use of modern fused porcelain to metal crowns. This tradition of using modern techniques continues today with the use of routine digital radiography, CT scans for dental implant and endodontic cases and the use of intra-oral dental scanners for better dental monitoring and tooth straightening (invisalign).

Today there are three principal dentists and two associate dentists providing a comprehensive range of dental treatments from routine care through to in-house specialist care in prosthodontics, periodontics, endodontics and oral surgery.

The history of the building

40 Harley Street

When the house was built, it was clearly intended as consulting suites with a flat or maisonette above. This proved difficult to let, and permission was given for multiple occupancy by medical practitioners.

The building is conservative as was Clark’s other work for the Metropolitan Railway. It’s faced entirely in Portland stone with just a few decorative elements to distinguish it from other houses in the vicinity – particularly the carved keystones. The interior revealed Art Deco touches including radiator grilles, staircase balustrading with polished chrome handrail and geometric-patterned glazing to the lightwell on the landing.